Monday, May 9, 2016

The Nighthawks - The Nighthawks (1980)

Never released on CD, the Nighthawks' seventh album got some radio play on FM stations in its day, before the band seemingly disappeared from the pop scene. While they released more albums after this one, their blues-rock thunder was stolen a few years later by the newer Fabulous Thunderbirds. Even their occasional penchant towards '50s rock (and wearing lots of tattoos) was popularized by another group that came along after them, the Stray Cats.

But the Washington DC-area Nighhawks had been around almost a decade before the T-Birds or Stray Cats started and their mastery of hard-hitting, electric Chicago blues show in this album. It's almost all cover songs, but they rock the hell out of them and the interplay between Mark Wenner's amplified harmonica and Jimmy Thackery's lead guitar can't be beat.

They were also on the mark when it came to picking songs. A year after they re-did Elvis Presley's "Little Sister," Rockpile and Robert Plant were all over radio and MTV with their remake of the tune, which was on the Concerts for the People of Kampuchea album put together by Paul McCartney. Marshall Crenshaw redid the song the next year and put it on his "U.S. Remix" EP. But the Nighthawks revived it first. This is a new rip of the LP @320 with scans. Turn it up!

Track list:
1. Mainline
2. Upside Your Head
3. Every Night and Every Day
4. Back To The City
5. One Nite Stand
6. Pretty Girls and Cadillacs
7. Brand New Man
8. Little Sister
9. Don't Go No Further
10. Teen-age Letter
11. I Wouldn't Treat A Dog (The Way You Treated Me)


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.


  2. When JohnnyD approves, ya got a winner; he's one of my heroes from Twighlightzone.


  3. Thank You
    Great Band

  4. This comment has been removed by the author.

  5. This sounds intriguing! Thanks so much!